Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Unbreakable: the spies who cracked the Nazis' secret code  Cover Image Book Book

Unbreakable: the spies who cracked the Nazis' secret code / Rebecca E.F. Barone.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250814203
  • ISBN: 1250814200
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2022.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
Traitor -- The Starting Line -- The Machine and the Method -- Recklessness -- The Violence of Words -- A Four Character Answer to a Six-Word Question -- As by Magic -- The Gale -- Verdier -- Fahrenheit 451 -- Two More Rotors -- What Langer Didn't Say -- Il y a du nouveau -- Harry Hinsley -- Escape -- Führer der U-boote -- Pay Him -- Bletchley Park -- Uncles -- Phony War -- A Missing Rotor -- Dark -- Certain Mechanical Devices -- Nearly Drowned -- Bombes and Spider Bombes -- Hunting at Night -- Joan -- Operation Ruthless -- Doubt -- Asché -- Operation Paula -- Refusal to Exit -- Yet Another Home -- U-boat Peril -- Somali -- Weather Ships -- Tides Turn -- Interlude -- Churchill -- Shark in the Water -- Losses and Laconia -- U-559 and Petard -- Kisses -- A Family Name -- The Fall of Cadix -- Jadwiga's Strength -- Found -- I Was Expecting You Tomorrow -- Schmidt -- Bertrand.
Summary, etc.:
"A nonfiction manuscript for young readers about a group of Allied spies and codebreakers that cracked the Nazis's infamous cypher, allowing them to read secret military messages and turn the tide of World War II. During WWII, as the Germans waged war, every Nazi plan, every attack, was sent over radio. But to the Allies listening in, the messages sounded like gibberish. The communications were encoded with a powerful cypher-unless you could unlock the key to Germany's Enigma machine. Featuring historical photos, Unbreakable tells the story of one of the most dangerous war-time code-breaking efforts ever. As Hitler marched his troops across conquered lands and deadly "wolfpacks" of German U-Boats prowled the open seas, victory-or defeat-for the Allies hinged on their desperate attempts to crack the code. Told in riveting multiple points of view, Unbreakable is perfect for fans of The Boys Who Challenged Hitler and The Nazi Hunters"-- Provided by publisher.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 10-14 Henry Holt Books for Young Readers.
Grades 7-9 Henry Holt Books for Young Readers.
Subject: World War, 1939-1945 > Cryptography > Juvenile literature.
Enigma cipher system > Juvenile literature.
Cryptographers > Poland > Juvenile literature.
Cryptographers > France > Juvenile literature.
Cryptographers > Great Britain > Juvenile literature.
World War, 1939-1945 > Secret service > Juvenile literature.

Available copies

  • 5 of 6 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Bethel Public Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 6 total copies.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethel Public Library J NEW 940.54 B (Text) 34030150555651 Juvenile New Nonfiction Available -

Loading...

Additional Resources